Skip directly to searchSkip directly to the site navigationSkip directly to the page's main content

PHOM Indicator Profile Report of Electronic Cigarettes / Vape Products

Why Is This Important?

Electronic cigarettes or vape products are battery-powered devices that turn liquids into aerosol. They are marketed under a variety of different names but are most commonly referred to as electronic cigarettes, e-cigarettes, vape products, mods, or tanks. They may also be known as JUUL, Vuse, Suorin, MarkTen, and Blu. The liquids frequently contain nicotine and flavors. Since 2011, Utah has seen a sharp increase in vape product experimentation and use among youth and young adults. Given the uncertain public health impact of vaping and the potential for increasing nicotine addiction among young people, monitoring the use of vape products and enforcing and strengthening policies that regulate youth access are public health priorities for Utah.

Electronic Cigarettes Experimentation and Current Use by Grade, Utah Students in Grades 8, 10, and 12, 2021

::chart - missing::
confidence limits

Data Source

Prevention Needs Assessment Survey

Data Notes

Experimentation is defined as "ever tried"; current use is defined as use in the past 30 days.

How Are We Doing?

From 2011 to 2019, the rate of vape product use among Utah students in grades 8, 10, and 12 increased from 1.9% to 12.4% (Utah SHARP - Prevention Needs Assessment 2011-2019). In 2021, 7.8% of Utah students in grades 8, 10, and 12 (Utah SHARP - Prevention Needs Assessment), and 9.7% of Utah high school students reported that they vaped in the past 30 days (Utah YRBS). In comparison, 6.8% of Utah adults reported current use of vape products in 2020 (Utah BRFSS 2020).

What Is Being Done?

Utah has passed a number of policies that limit youth access and/or regulate the safety of vape products. Tobacco retailers are required to be licensed through the Utah Tax Commission to sell electronic cigarettes and other vape products. The sale of vape products to those younger than 21 years is prohibited. Most flavored products can only be sold in tobacco retail specialty stores. Since vape products are included in the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, vaping in indoor public places is also prohibited. These measures are intended to reduce youth vaping and nicotine addiction.

Date Indicator Content Last Updated: 03/30/2022


Other Views

The information provided above is from the Department of Health's Center for Health Data IBIS-PH web site (http://ibis.health.state.gov). The information published on this website may be reproduced without permission. Please use the following citation: " Retrieved Tue, 28 June 2022 12:57:42 from Department of Health, Center for Health Data, Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health Web site: http://ibis.health.state.gov ".

Content updated: Wed, 30 Mar 2022 19:20:08 MDT